Happy Rice and Beans

Since I have arrived to Austin, I have been catching up with all my old friends and dining out quite a bit. That means everything from BBQ to Fried Okra. What is also catching up with me is the calories. I feel like I am going to gain the freshman 15… but Austin 15 if I don’t watch out.

So yesterday, I headed to the gym with a girlfriend to catch a pump class. I had been meaning to check out the gym as a possible place to join and carry Happy Hemp… so 2 birds… one stone. Perfect!! We were off…
I think the better name for this class should have been “I am going to kill you!!” I knew I was going to be sore, but really got the full understanding as I sleepily drifted to the bathroom to pee. I was jolted out of my sleeplessness when I tried to sit down. OMG!! My legs, butt, knees, skin, hair were on fire. Awake now… I tempted to just fall backward on to the toilet without bending my knees. Did not work.  Eventually I came up with a one knee bend, slow roll down, off to one side, bracing the wall, sit down maneuver while whimpering. Today I full intend to get around minus my legs…. still working on the “How” part.
When trying to keep the lbs off and Keeping the taste on, my go to is a simple rice and bean combo. It is yummy packed with health and it won’t make your legs hurt!
Ingredients:
  • 1 Can Black Beans
  • 1 Cup Brown Rice
  • 2 Cups Water
  • 3 Tablespoons Happy Hemp
  • 1/2 Avocado Sliced
  • 1 Dollop Sour Cream (optional)
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
Directions:
  1. Put brown rice and water together in a pot with a lid.  Set the heat to maximum, and bring the rice/water to a boil uncovered.
  2. Then put the lid on the pot, and reduce the heat to low/simmer. Let the rice simmer for 20 minutes.
  3. Turn off the heat, and let the rice sit in the covered pot for another 10 minutes.
  4. In saucepan heat up the black beans on medium heat.
  5. Place rice and beans in a bowl and sprinkle Happy Hemp on top of rice.
  6. Add avocado slices and sour cream
  7. Salt and Pepper to taste
  8. Enjoy!
Happy Simple. Happy not legs. Happy Hemp.
4 comments

  1. Pingback: Happy Hemp #Review

  2. Pingback: Happy Youth | happyhemp

  3. Pingback: Turkey Overload: Soup To The Rescue | happyhemp

Leave a Reply

