Happy Body Image

Today I noticed on Facebook a story going around about body image (see post at bottom).  I started to think about how I see myself. At 35 I feel like I am finally becoming truly comfortable in my own skin, which is good because things are just starting to go South. I think I have a new grey hair everyday. This was not always the case. When I was younger, I could only see the flaws in my shape. I am a 5’2 voluptuous girl. I longed to be without curves and a little height would have been nice. When I look back at photos of when I was in my teens, I giggle to think I had issue with that body.

Real beauty is a real woman. Voluptuous shapes have been stealing our hearts for years.

Age is a beautiful gift. Somehow you start to see all the best parts. Maybe it is the wisdom you gain with years. What I do know is the world has changed and the youth are fighting to keep up with an unreal standard. What we don’t hear is that the average size of a woman in the United Stated is a size 14.

Art is another place we can find bold woman with lovely curves.

Being a healthy you does not mean a size 2. Living healthy embodies not only the body, but the mind. How many skinny girls do you see that are half starving and sad. How exhausting to maintain unreal goals. Some of the most beautiful woman I know are living their best for them. Happy and healthy at their appropriate size. What I notice from these lovely ladies is a confidence and a happiness that only comes from accepting you as you are. Ask any man if the prefer stick or curves? I bet you money they prefer the curve.

Photo from Facebook post

So when I read this article today and saw my friends of all shapes and sizes repost, I smiled.

Happy Body. Happy Mind. Happy You.

Start Facebook post:

A while back, at the entrance of a gym, there was a picture of a very thin and beautiful woman. The caption was “This summer, do you want to be a mermaid or a whale?”The story goes, a woman (of clothing size unknown) answered the following way:”Dear people, whales are always surrounded by friends (dolphins, seals, curious humans), they are sexually active and raise their children with great tenderness.
They entertain like crazy with dolphins and eat lots of prawns. They swim all day and travel to fantastic places like Patagonia, the Barents Sea or the coral reefs of Polynesia.
They sing incredibly well and sometimes even are on cds. They are impressive and dearly loved animals, which everyone defend and admires.

Mermaids do not exist.

But if they existed, they would line up to see a psychologist because of a problem of split personality: woman or fish?
They would have no sex life and could not bear children.
Yes, they would be lovely, but lonely and sad.
And, who wants a girl that smells like fish by his side?

Without a doubt, I’d rather be a whale.

At a time when the media tells us that only thin is beautiful, I prefer to eat ice cream with my kids, to have dinner with my husband, to eat and drink and have fun with my friends.

We women, we gain weight because we accumulate so much wisdom and knowledge that there isn’t enough space in our heads, and it spreads all over our bodies.
We are not fat, we are greatly cultivated.
Every time I see my curves in the mirror, I tell myself: “How amazing am I ?! “

4 comments

  1. Jennifer Hawkins

    Hi! Just found your blog today and am in love. (Also just got in my first order of Happy Hemp today and am very eager to try it.) I had to stop at this post, though. I am quite thin – super duper thin, in fact – and let me tell you, it is so frustrating sometimes when I read posts like this. I eat an average of 4 or 5 meals a day. High carb, high protein, because my metabolism is so fast that my blood sugar drops easily. This is my natural size. So often I see people saying we should love our bodies… while at the same time, dissing small sizes. There are naturally tiny girls out there! Can’t we love our bodies too? Favored shape is cyclical, just like everything else in society. It goes back and forth between curvy and thin. In the meantime, shouldn’t we be focusing on being healthy and enjoying our natural size, whatever it may be? Just some food for thought. 😛 By the way, I am absolutely in love with your blog and plan on trying a bunch of these recipes! ^_^

    • Jennifer Thank you for order and your comments. I agree that being healthy is being your BEST whatever size it may be. The day I posted that article I loved that a post was going around about loving your size. That includes whoever you are small or large. I meet several girls who starve themselves from food in order to look like an airbrushed girl in an ad. I hope to encourage girls to grown up realizing they are perfect just as they are. Thank you for being a happy hemper!!

  2. Pingback: Happy Hemp Cucumber Appetizers | happyhemp

  3. Pingback: Happy Basics | happyhemp

Leave a Reply

