Happy Potato Chowder

Nothing warms you up like a homemade bowl of soup. I love how the smell makes everything feel cozy. So when I make a pot of soup, I am a free styler. I don’t think I have ever made the same soup twice in my life. I always start with the main ingredients and then just add whatever is in the house. Little bit of this and little bit of that. Here are some additional ingredients that can add flavor… ham, leeks, bacon, cheese and so on.

So let’s start chopping!!

  • 3 or 4 Potatoes. Scrub clean. Peel  and chop.
  • 1 Clove fresh garlic. Chopped
  • 2 Stalks celery. Chopped.
  • 1 Onion. Chopped.

Next grab a stock pot. Drizzle olive oil and add the onions, celery and garlic over medium heart. Cook until onions are translucent. Good smells start!!

Add in the potatoes. Pour in chicken (you can use veggie stock) stock until the top of the ingredients are covered. Bring to boil and simmer for about 20 min or until potatoes are soft.

Remove from heat and lightly mash up the mixture. You want the mixture to be chunky.

Place back on low heat. Add in a can of corn (drain water), salt and pepper and 1 cup of half and half. Stir together.

Cook for another 10 min. Place in your soup bowl and add your Happy Hemp on top. Adds a great warm nutty flavor!!

Enjoy!!

Leave a comment