Happy 12 days of Local Christmas

12 days of Christmas is not exactly the most logical gift guide in 2011, but with some modern day translation… I think we can manage to come up with some local alternative options!!

  • On the first day of christmas, my true love gave to me a, Partridge in a Pear Tree: In the spirit of fruit, instead give the gift of Argus Cidery (arguscidery.com). This yummy brew is a great way to get the Christmas night started. Also makes for a lovely hostess gift in lieu of wine.
  • On the second day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, Two Turtle Doves: If you have a foodie in your house, who loves game may I suggest Dai Due (daidueaustin.net) is an amazing purveyor of meat, veggies and charcuterie. Also located at the Farmers’ Market. Yum!!

  • On the third day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, Three French Hens: Texas is not known for French food, but they are known for some mighty fine Tex-Mex. A gift certificate to Chuy’s is always welcome. Dot please!
  • On the fourth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, Four Calling Birds: Calling on you to give a home to a four legged in need. Instead of buying… I say adopt. Austin Pets Alive (austinpetsalive.org) is full of sweet loved ones in need of cozy homes. Also make a donation in the name of a loved one is a wonderful gift option this year. Animals equal happiness!
  • On the fifth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, Five Golden Rings: Check out Shaesby (shaesby.com) for the perfect sparkle gift for the special lady in your life.
For the boys my go to is D&A (dandabrothers.com).  Baubles and Bling!!
  • On the sixth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, Six Geese-a-Laying: In the spirit of laying around and relaxing, love a day at the Spa. Milk and Honey spa (milkandhoneyspa.com) is a vacation without having to pack or deal with the airport. Exhale!
  • On the seventh day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, Seven Swans-a-Swimming: Treat the girls to a swim in the best drinks in Austin. La Condessa (lacondesaaustin.com). May I suggest the watermelon-elderflower martini….Perfectly de-lish!
  • On the eighth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, Eight Maids-a-Milking: Get your milk on with some great cheese from Antonelle’s Cheese shop (antonellischeese.com). PS gift basket!
  • On the tenth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me,  Nine Ladies Dancing: Tickets to the ballet… Can’t get more fabulous than that. Take your honey to the Austin Ballet (balletaustin.org). The nutcracker is the perfect holiday ballet. Very chic!
  • On the tenth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, Ten Lords-a-Leaping: You can’t do graceful leaps without the perfect shoes. By George (bygeorgeaustin.com) has the latest in fashionable and gift certificates. Perfect from head to toe!
  • On the eleventh day of Christmas,My true love gave to me, Eleven Pipers Piping: Instead of promoting smoking… give the gift of health!  Happy Hemp (happy-hemp.com) is the perfect stocking stuffer. Happy Gifting!!
  • On the twelvth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me,Twelve Drummers Drumming: Waterloo (waterloorecords.com) is my go to for music. I don’t know anyone who does not love music. Records too!!

Whatever might end up under the tree this year. Remember to shop and support your local businesses! Happy Shopping. Happy Local.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Holiday Brain Fart | happyhemp

Leave a Reply

