Happy Cooking Shows

Well y’all this has been a long time coming. I have been planning and plotting for months to start adding Happy Hemp video vignettes. Whew it is a million times harder than what I thought. There is really something to be said about TV magic. Hours and Hours of taping… to be edited down to only 2-ish wee little minutes.

My journey started with homework. Watching cooking shows and taking notes. How do they start the show? How do they end the show? How do they tell the story? Well watching someone else is far different than actually doing it yourself.

Preparing to start the bruschetta episode.

First thing to figure out is my intro and my closing. After watching several shows, I see how each show starts with same 3 things.

1. Introduce myself.

2. Explain the overall theme of the show. For example Rachel Ray cooks 30 min meals.

3. What you are making. I am going to make x dish in 30 minutes.

Ok I can do that. Wrong! I would expect having trouble in the beginning explaining my cooking objective until I got comfortable, but my name!?! When the camera is on and the lights are on you like you are being questioned by the police, even my name seemed to escape me. Good thing for TV magic… Cut! Bruschetta take 3.

Next problem…. I was beyond nervous and had about a pot of coffee that moring trying to get ready, with no food before they arrived.

Definition Nervous:

1. Highly excitable; unnaturally or acutely uneasy or apprehensive: to become nervous under stress. 

2. Of or pertaining to the nerves: nervous tension.

3. Affecting the nerves: nervous diseases.

4. Suffering from, characterized by, or originating in disordered nerves.

5. Characterized by or attended with acute uneasiness or apprehension: a nervous moment for us all.

I was experiencing #1 and #5 for sure. On scale of 1 to 10, I was about a 12 in the butterfly nerve department. Luckily I was working with professionals and they knew exactly what to do.

1. Eat something. I quickly woofed down a muffin and 2 TBSP of Happy Hemp right out of the bag.

2. Take a shot of Tequila. They did not recommend this, but I thought it was  good idea. 🙂 Down the hatch!

After the second taping, I seemed to be getting into a groove or the tequila was working? Regardless my personality started to come out. Words were exiting my mouth in complete sentences. I did not cut or hurt myself during the filming. I started picturing the film crew in their underwear and thank goodness I was able to remember my name again.

So in just a couple of weeks, the next stage of Happy Hemp will begin. I am excited and hope you will love it! If not… I have a wonderful 4 part mini series documenting me making a baboon’s ass of myself for my friends and family to enjoy for years to come!!

Happy Butterflies. Happy Cooking. Happy Hemp.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

