Happy Oscars and Fancy Grilled Cheese.

I was excited to watch the Oscars this year due to the return of Billy Crystal. The first thing to do when planning for the big night is… What are you going to eat? Very important. Earlier in the day, I had been watching the Food Network. The show was about my favorite thing I have ever eaten. One of the segments was about the most Awesomeness Sandwiches ever. There was a Croque Monsieur that was jumping off the screen calling my name. So my options were 1.  buy a ticket to NY or 2. make my own spectacular version and share with you. I am going with option 2 and you!


I have never made a CM, but knew the ingredients….. Cheese, ham, bread, spread of some sort and of course my addition of Happy Hemp. In my opinion the cheese is the most important element in the dish. I realized that once I arrived to select the cheese, I had forgot to look up what was the best option. As it was Sunday, I have a new no cell phone rule and did not have my handy looker upper device at my finger tips. This posed a real problem due to the cheese selection at Central Market is a small grocery store within itself. The dazed look of being completely overwhelmed by all the choices must have been completely obvious. A cheese 911 staffer quickly saw the fear on my face and rushed to aid me in my selection. Whew…Disaster avoided!! He suggested a Comte which is the french version of Gruyere, the croque cheese of choice.

Warning: The following recipe is not the real deal French version. I do not claim it is in anyway shape or form. Nor am I French in anyway shape or form. This is simply a lazy Austin Sunday fancy grilled cheese recipe inspired by (insert French accent) Monsieur Croque.


My last big decision was finishing the night with popcorn or ice cream. I went with both clearly!

Shopping complete T minus 45 min to show time.

Ingredients:

  • Wheat Bread
  • Comte cut
  • Sliced ham
  • Mayo
  • Happy Hemp


Directions:

  1. Turn on the broiler.
  2. Toast 2 slices of bread.
  3. Spread mayo on both slices.
  4. Layer on top ham, a pinch of Happy Hemp and cheese.
  5. Place in oven until cheese on top is bubbly and lightly browned.
  6. Server with a side salad or bowl of your favorite soup.
  7. Enjoy!

Overall the food was yummy! The ice cream and popcorn were slightly over the top, but worth it!!

The Oscars on the other hand were less than thrilling and I found myself asleep on the couch half way through.

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Happy Mac and Cheese!!! | happyhemp

  2. Pingback: Happy Life in Balance | happyhemp

Leave a Reply

