Happy Rosemary and Toasted-Caraway Shortbread

2013-11-23 22.37.16

I LOOOOVVVVVEEEEE Bon Appétit magazine. I flip through the pages imagining myself whipping up the dishes in a cute festive outfit without ever breaking a sweat. Reality is what keeps me at bay. I love to bake, but rarely do so, due to two simple reasons:

1. I can’t follow directions.

2. I am a professional mess maker… food on the walls type of mess.

However each holiday season a recipe from Bon Appétit awakens the inner Martha in me. I set off ready for bake-aggedon whisk in hand.

2013-11-23 23.14.11 This year the recipe that caught my eye was their spin on a shortbread cookie. I love the idea of marrying savory with sweet. Somehow I feel like the savory makes it not so bad. Yes, and apparently I can add to that list– lying to myself.

Ingredients:

  • 1 teaspoon caraway seeds
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) chilled unsalted butter, cut into 1/2 pieces
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup powder cup
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purose flour
  • 2 teaspoon finely chopped fresh rosemary, plus whole leaves
  • 1 large egg, beaten to blend
  • coarse sanding sugar (for sprinkling)
  • 1/4 cup Happy Hemp seeds, raw

2013-11-23 23.25.20

Directions: 

  1. Preheat over to 350 degrees.
  2. Toast caraway seeds in dry skillet over medium high heat, stirring occasionally, until fragrant. approx 2 min. Coarsely chop; set aside.
  3. Using an electric mixer on medium-high speed, beat butter, granulated sugar, powder sugar and salt until very light and fluffy, 7 to 10 min.
  4. Reduce speed and add flour, caraway, 2 tsp. chopped rosemary, 1/4 cup Happy Hemp seeds; mix just to combine. Dough will look shaggy and a little dry.
  5. Press dough into two 8″ diameter cake pans.
  6. Brush with egg, sprinkle with sanding sugar, and top with rosemary leaves.
  7. Bake shortbread for about 20 to 25 min.
  8. Let cool on a drying rack before cutting and serving.

2013-11-24 00.11.15Happy Baking. Happy Bon Appétit. Happy Hemp.

3 comments

  1. Pingback: Happy Hemp’nola | happyhemp

  2. Pingback: Happy Hemp Fudge Balls | happyhemp

  3. Pingback: Happy Hemp Fudge Balls | Happy Hemp

Leave a Reply

