Turkey Overload: Soup To The Rescue

Holy cowbells I may never eat turkey again! How did I end up with so much? Nonetheless,  I refuse to waste food…period.  So I need a recipe that won’t make me feel like I am in leftover mode. As a huge fan of a hot pot of soup on a cold day, I figured I would do a spin on one of my favorite soups and substitute the chicken for turkey.

2013-12-02 23.10.51

Here’s what ya need:

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 3 stalks celery, chopped
  • 3 medium carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3 quarts chicken stock or veggie stock
  • 2 cups wild rice
  • 1 pound of turkey, cut into large pieces
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 1/4 cup shiitake mushrooms, chopped
  • Happy Hemp seeds, raw

2013-12-02 23.11.25Here’s whatcha gonna do:

  1. In a large pot over medium heat, combine 1 tbsp olive oil, celery, onion, carrots and garlic. Heat until the onions are translucent.
  2. Add stock, turkey, rice and bay leaves to the pot. Bring to a boil. reduce heat, cover, and simmer for one hour.
  3. In a separate sauce pan, sauté the mushrooms in remaining olive oil and set aside.
  4. Serve the soup topped with the mushrooms and a sprinkle of Happy Hemp seeds to each bowl.
  5. Enjoy!
2 comments

Leave a Reply

