Simple Butternut Squash with Rainbow Chard and Happy Hemp Seeds

2014-01-10 01.11.47I have long time admired the chef who is able to create a magnificently simple dish. The art of restraint in cooking can separate the great from the incredible. Knowing when to stop, avoid over seasoning, and adding only one more flavor IS the key to simple perfection. Tonight I had a simple bibb and avocado salad with a citrus vinaigrette. It had to be one of the most mouth watering perfect salads I have ever tasted. Yet so simple! I do my best to create that  easy pallet in my kitchen and I think this recipe is an example of how less truly is more. 2014-01-09 23.55.04Ingredients:

  • 2 cups butternut squash. (I bought these pre-cleaned and chopped at Whole Foods.)
  • 2 cups rainbow chard, washed and chopped into ribbons.
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil (room temperature)
  • sea salt
  • 4 tablespoons Happy Hemp seeds, raw

Screen Shot 2014-01-16 at 10.15.51 PMDirections

  1. Preheat over to 350 degrees.
  2. Toss the butternut squash in the coconut oil and sprinkle with a pinch of sea salt. Spread out on a baking sheet and place in the oven. Roast for 20 minutes or until lightly golden brown.
  3. Place roasted squash in a sauté pan with remaining coconut oil over medium heat. Add the rainbow chard to skillet and lightly toss until the greens are slightly wilted.
  4. Sprinkle Happy Hemp on top and serve.
  5. Enjoy!

2014-01-10 01.08.30This dish works great as a side or as a meal!

2 comments

    • Sandy great questions. I am looking and I don’t think so. I would suggest screen shots. I am happy to do for you. You can email me info@happy-hemp.com and I will send over to you. Funny enough our new product line addresses this very situation. Stay tuned we are about a month from launching. 🙂 Eat Happy Tara Miko

Leave a Reply

