Hemp Pea Smash



IMG_0472
Peas and I go way back. It’s a love hate relationship. I hated them and my mom loved to make me eat them. They were the cause of many a long night sitting at the dinner table all by my lonesome. I would spit them into my napkin, hide them under the baked potato skin, even swallow them whole so I would not have to taste them. I have since come around and given peas a chance. To say the least, I am a fan and this recipe is smashing. This is for all you veggie haters turned veggie lovers. Enjoy!
Ingredients:
  • 2 tablespoons butter or olive oil
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped shallot
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 16 oz bag frozen peas, thawed
  • 1/4 cup chopped parsley
  • 1 avocado, roughly chopped
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 1/4 cup Happy Hemp seeds, raw
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1/3 cup pepitas
  • *optional Happy Hemp seeds, toasted for sprinkling olive oil to drizzle
IMG_0468
Directions:
  1. Melt butter or olive oil in a large pan on medium heat. Add shallots and garlic. Sauté until fragrant. Mix in the peas and stir regularly for 4-5 minutes, until tender.
  2.  Take off heat. Stir in parsley, avocado, raw Happy Hemp seeds, lemon juice, sea salt and black pepper. Roughly mash together until well combined.
  3. Add in pepitas and a drizzle of olive oil. Mix until well incorporated. Sprinkle with toasted Happy Hemp seeds.
  4. Enjoy on it’s own or serve on a cracker with fresh mozzarella.
Leave a Reply

